International Organisation & India

Ever since the NDA Government came to power in 2014, India has seriously upped its diplomacy and foreign policy game. We are being more aggressive in our bids to gain membership into groups like the UN's Security Council (UNSC) and the Nuclear Suppliers Group (NSG) and at the same time we are being more assertive in the groups where we already have membership like BRICS, G20 and SAARC. For those clueless about the myriad groups that India is a part of, here's the illustrated library.
The G4 (Group of 4) nations include India, Brazil, Germany and Japan. Their main objective for uniting is to support each other’s bids to join the UN Security Council.
BRICS (Brazil, Russia, India, China and South Africa) nations are all newly industrialized developing countries with similar trajectories. This organization was formed to encourage economic, cultural and political cooperation between them.
The Non-Aligned Movement, consisting of 120 member countries, was formed during the Cold War. The states in this group are not officially aligned with or against any major power bloc (U.S.A. or U.S.S.R.). It is nearly two-thirds of the United Nation’s members and includes 55% of the world’s population.
All the nations surrounding the Bay of Bengal (Bangladesh, India, Myanmar, Sri Lanka, Thailand, Bhutan and Nepal) are the members of the BIMSTEC group for the purpose of enhancing technological and economical cooperation among the South Asian and Southeast Asian countries along the bay.
G7+5 is the coalition of G7 countries (Canada, France, Germany, Italy, Japan, the United Kingdom, and the United States) and the Group of Five (Brazil, China, India, Mexico, and South Africa) to tackle global warming as various big industries of the world are in these countries. G8 was reduced to G7 after Russia was ousted due to its involvement in the 2014 Crimea crisis in Ukraine.
Mekong-Ganga Cooperation consists of India, Thailand, Myanmar, Cambodia, Laos and Vietnam, countries through which these rivers flow. The goal of the group is to lay emphasis on four areas of cooperation - tourism, culture, education, and transportation.
SAARC (South Asian Association for Regional Cooperation) is based in South Asia with Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, Nepal, the Maldives, Pakistan and Sri Lanka as its members. The organization promotes economic development and regional integration.
This group has 53 members, most of which were the former colonies of the British Empire. The group was formed out of solidarity and the member states are not legally obliged to one another. The Commonwealth emerged in the mid-20th century with the decolonization of British territories due to increasing self-governance of its territories. All its members are “free and equal” and Queen Elizabeth II is the symbol of this free association.
The G-20 is an international forum for the governments and Central Banks of 20 major economies. They have joined hands to study, review, and promote high-level discussion of policy issues pertaining to the promotion of international financial stability. Together they account for around 85% of the gross world product (GWP).
The association consists of 21 members sharing coastal borders with Indian Ocean. The main idea behind the group’s formation is to promote liberalization, and create an environment for a freer and enhanced flow of goods, services, investment, and technology within the Indian Ocean rim.
India, Brazil and South Africa together formed this trilateral group to promote international cooperation among these countries. The group aim at increasing the trade opportunities and facilitate trilateral exchange of information, technologies and skills to complement each other’s strengths. The members represent greater understanding between three important continents (Africa, Asia and South America) of the developing world.
The group unites the Asian countries to promote Asian cooperation at a continental level. It also helps integrate separate regional organizations such as ASEAN, SAARC, the Gulf Cooperation Council, and the EAEU. The group has 34 member countries.
BASIC is the bloc of Brazil, South Africa, India and China, which are newly industrialized countries. The bloc attempts to define a common position on emission reductions and climate aid money.
This intergovernmental organization is responsible for maintaining world peace. Formed after World War II, the organization is the biggest association of countries on the planet with 193 member nations. In order to prevent another World War like conflict, the UN’s objectives include promoting human rights, fostering social and economic development, protecting the environment, and providing humanitarian aid in cases of famine, natural disaster, and armed conflict & to promote international co-operation.
Formed after the "Joint Declaration of the Seventy-Seven Countries" at a United Nations Conference in 1964, the Group of 77 (G77) is a loose coalition of developing nations. It was established to promote its members' collective economic interests and create an enhanced joint negotiating capacity at the United Nations. The membership of the group has reached to 134 from 77 during its inception.
Formerly known as the Shanghai Five (China, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Russia, Tajikistan) , the group was named Shanghai Cooperation Organisation in 2001 after the admission of Uzbekistan. The group shares security, military, economic and cultural cooperation with each other. India and Pakistan will join SCO in 2016.
International Organisation & India was last modified: by
To Top